7025042570 (Contact) info@mystudyindia.com


Estd Year
University Type

Bengaluru City University, formerly Bengaluru Central University, is a state university located in Bengaluru, Karnataka. It was formed in 2017 and renamed in 2020.

Bengaluru Central University came into existence on 13th August 2015 by amending the Karnataka State Universities Act 2000. [K.S.U. (Amendment) Act, 2015]. The University officially commenced its activity with the appointment of Vice-Chancellor on 2607-2017. The first batch of UG and PG students were admitted in the year 201819. The name of the University has been subsequently changed as “Bengaluru City University” with effect from 19th June 2020 through an Ordinance and Gazette Notification of Government of Karnataka. This change of name is done at the behest of University Grants Commission, to overcome the confusion between the names of Central University of Karnataka and this University. This change in the nomenclature has helped to depict true nature and demography of the University. The geographical area of the University comprises of the Bengaluru City and the name reflects its core jurisdiction. Keeping in mind the UGC guidelines under RUSA which stipulates not more than 100-150 affiliated colleges for each University, the Govt. of Karnataka has felt that, academic standards, quality education, better management, and strict adherence of academic calendar would be achieved by trifurcating Bangalore University and establishing Bengaluru City University (BCU) and Bengaluru North University (BNU). The jurisdiction of the Bengaluru City University spreads over 13 Legislative Assembly Constituencies of Bengaluru City namely, Shanthinagar, Byatarayanapura, Yelahanka, Malleshwaram, Hebbal, Shivajinagar, Gandhinagar, Chamarajpet, Chickpet, Basavangudi, BTM Layout, Jayanagar and Rajajinagar. The University has inherited eight Post-Graduate Departments namely, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Commerce, Management, Mass Communication, Apparel Technology and Global Languages and 239 affiliated colleges.   

10 out of the 16 autonomous colleges of the pre-trifurcated Bangalore University have come under the jurisdiction of the BCU. The large number of autonomous colleges which are the most well-known and historic institutions of the city are the key strength of BCU. Two autonomous colleges have been crowned with the independent status of the University.

The Karnataka’s brand new institution of Higher Education, inherits a rich and historic legacy dating back to the mid-nineteenth century. Its modest beginning begins from 1858, when Bangalore High School was established with five students. By the end of the 19th century, this small school grew into Central College, which emerged not only a great centre of science learning and research but also of Kannada literature, social movements and radical political consciousness. Central College was the principal constituent college for more than a century for two premier education institutions, the University of Mysore (1916-1964) and Bangalore University (1964-2017). This august institution provides not just the physical setting for BCU but more importantly its intellectual legacy and social consciousness. 


Dr. Ambedkar Veedhi,
Bengaluru- 560001,
Bengaluru, Karnataka, India
Phone : 080-22131385
Email : registrarbcu@gmail.com
Website : bcu.ac.in/

Get our updates Sign up for our newsletter