7025042570 (Contact) info@mystudyindia.com


Estd Year
University Type

The University of Calicut is the largest University in Kerala. Established in the year 1968, it is the second university to be set up in Kerala. The University aims to nurture excellence in education and research in its catchment areas of Northern Kerala, historically consigned to the periphery of Kerala’s academic map. The University lays its emphasis on fostering quality human resource and promoting productive research that benefit both local communities and wider humanity.

The University was created through a Government plan bifurcating Kerala University. With ‘Nirmaya Karmana Sree’ as it motto, the University has been able to surmount all challenges and emerge as the largest University of Kerala.

With 34 post graduate and research departments, 3 centres, 11 chairs and 394 affiliated colleges, it has become a beacon of hope and enlightenment for hundreds of thousands of young men and women in Kerala.

The University campus located at Tenhipalam, 24 km south of the city of Calicut is the main hub of academic activities. Situated here, besides most of the teaching and research departments, are: the Office of the Vice Chancellor, the Administration Block, the Pareeksha Bhavan, School of Distance Education, UGC HRD Centre, Educational Multimedia Research Centre, the University Library, the Central Science Block and the guest houses. The departments on the main campus include Arabic, Botany, Biotechnology, Women Studies, Chemistry, Commerce and Management Studies, Computer Science, Education, English, Hindi, History, Political Science, Mass Communication and Journalism, Life Science, Library and Information Science, Life Long Learning and Extension, Malayalam and Kerala Studies, Mathematics, Nanoscience and Technology, Philosophy, Physics, Physical Education, Psychology, Russian and Comparative Literature, Sanskrit, Folklore Studies, Statistics, Zoology, Environmental Science, Geology, Sociology and Law. The University has two off campus centres, one at Thrissur and the other, specially meant for tribal empowerment, located in the Western Ghat area of the state, Wayanad. Besides these, there are self-financing centres located in different parts of the area of jurisdiction. Information Centres have been set up in all the five districts of our jurisdiction to facilitate better access to students.

To meet the challenges of the changing world, the University is offering both conventional and advanced programmes of studies and research under the same umbrella. Administration through E-Governance, computerization of examinations, establishment of smart class rooms, modernization of laboratories, frontier lectures by renowned scholars and scientists, etc. are some of the innovative activities to mention in particular.

As many as 394 colleges are affiliated to the University. Among these 102 are located in Kozhikode District, 74 in Thrissur District, 92 in Malappuram District, 71 in Palakkad District and 18 in Wayanad District.Inclusive growth towards excellence providing opportunities to the most underprivileged and marginalized is our primary goal and we thrive utilizing all our strengths for it.


Calicut University PO,
Kozhikode, Kerala, India
Phone : 0494-2407227
Email : jce2@universityofcalicut.info
Website : www.uoc.ac.in/

Get our updates Sign up for our newsletter