7025042570 (Contact) info@mystudyindia.com

First Indian to receive the EGU Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award is an IIT Roorkee professor.

The Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award was given to Ankit Agarwal, an assistant professor at the Department of Hydrology at the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Roorkee, for his contributions to the study of hydroclimatic extremes. The honour has never before gone to an Indian, Professor Agarwal.

Agarwal received the honour during the EGU General Assembly 2023, which took place in Vienna, Austria, from April 23–28, 2023, and was presided over by EGU President Irina M. Artemieva. The professor has received recognition from the Natural Hazards Division of the EGU for his important work in complexity science for better understanding, measuring, and forecasting hydroclimatic extremes.

Head of the Department of Hydrology Professor Brijesh Kumar Yadav congratulated Agarwal and praised his unwavering research philosophies and student-centered approach. He also lauded him for his commitment to fostering science among disadvantaged scholars worldwide and pursuing equal opportunities. Professor Agarwal expressed his gratitude to the EGU, his mentors, colleagues, and students and dedicated the prize to the Department of Hydrology at IIT Roorkee after receiving it. The theme of forecasting hydroclimatic extremes and making a contribution to society by educating people is the significance of joint research on how to safeguard lives and property and prepare against such dangers before they become disasters.

Get our updates Sign up for our newsletter